RSS

Move Over Ms Bronte`

11 Apr

My children were getting older and I was getting more discontent with my lot.  We either grow or we stagnate.  I took a writing class at Adult Ed in the local high school and met many interesting people.  Mostly women like myself who needed to stretch their brain.  From this group of women and a few men I made a couple of life long friends.  After the class ended a few of us began meeting at my home once or so each month.  It was always my home because my husband worked nights and I didn’t want to leave the kids alone. 

We worked on individual writing projects.  Mostly fiction.  We met for a couple of years and some people were really good.  Others, like myself, just average.  But by some twist of fate I was published in two magazines.  Both of my stories were science fiction.  It was thrilling.  My first story, Tide and Time, earned me $50.00.  That’s it, I was off to the races.  I actually wrote and completed a full length novel.  It wasn’t very good, but the success was in the completion.  You have no idea how difficult it is to discipline yourself to sit down and write every evening.  You get caught up in the rewrite and the perfecting of what has already been written making it near to impossible to finish anything.

Much to my surprise I did a lot with my writing.  I wrote a social column for two years and got paid for it.  I taught creative writing myself in the same high school I had taken classes.  When I worked as a managing agent for a property management company, I wrote newsletters for the communities, and wrote articles about management for NY Habitat Magazine.  My writing served me well until this day.

The writing began just about the same time I had taken a job as a lunch room lady in a school district.  Perfect job when you children are still in elementary school.  You are home when they are.  I salute those women who made a career out of working in the kitchen of a school.  They work hard as hell and are the butt of many jokes.  I loved wearing the hair net.  I can be freaky that way.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

