RSS

Horse Drawn Carts

11 Jun

It is amazing, even to me, that I am living in a world that has seen so many changes since I released my first kitten like squall in Doctor Lefts Maternity Hospital in the Bronx, to the present day sitting writing my blog on a computer in Patchogue, New York.

I was born just after the second world war.  Perhaps in the age of innocence.  The disparity between the rich, middle class and poor was not as great as it is today.  While we never even aspired to be rich, middle class was attainable.  The gap between the poor, middle class and rich has widened considerably.  For too many middle class may be an impossibility.

When I was a little girl there were a few peddlers selling their wares and services from a horse-drawn cart.  Can you even imagine it?  The man who sharpened knives and scissors came down the street once a month ringing his bell.   Housewives would run down the long flights of stairs and wait while he used his grinder to sharpen the blades.

There was the peddler who shouted through the streets, “Onions, Potatoes””.  My grandmother would shout back, “How much for potatoes?”   Then I, the runner at six years old, would fly down with the twenty-five cent piece and retrieve the five pounds of potatoes for her.  I loved doing this because I would usually get to pet the old horse while I waited for him to bag the loose tubers.

Further up the street there were carts filled with more perishable goods, bananas, tomatoes, flowers, and the like, also displayed in horse-drawn carts.  These entrepreneurs only trotted up to the farmers market with their carts, and then back to the curbside, which they had already claimed probably with their fist.   The carts were loaded and arranged attractively with the appealing produce.  Crates were used to display the fruit and vegetables in bleacher style, stacked so you could see it all and limiting the detrimental piling up of the wares.

You purchased fruit and vegetables only in season.  They were selected individually and usually only bought two or three at a time.  The customer didn’t touch them but rather pointed to the peach or tomato they desired.  Since nothing was hot-house grown the produce bruised easily.  It was carefully protected by the peddler until it was purchased.

Shopping for food was a ritual that occurred every few days, therefore a pleasant relationship was formed between the women shoppers and their peddler.  Pleasantries were exchanged, and like today the smart cart owner would learn the language of the neighborhood.  Sometimes when it was a good customer, or the housewife  cute, the cart owner would suggest which was the freshest of his wares then push the not so choice to someone he didn’t know well, or hadn’t taken a shine to.  My grandmother with her beautiful grey eyes and diminutive size often got the best.  She was very proud of this.

Yes, the world has changed with its refrigerated trucks, supermarkets and grand warehouse stores.  The hot-house fruits and vegetables don’t taste quite as good.  I have purchased tomatoes recently that were so hard you could use them as soft balls.  Shopping is not a social event. We rarely bond with our produce providers.  Is that a good thing or not?

Do I long for those days?  Yes, having those family members, who have long since passed beyond the veil, close to me.  I miss them terribly.   But I do not miss spending an entire afternoon choosing food.  That time is better spent doing the things that make 2011 so great and creating memories for those I love.   Horse drawn carts and all they represent are cherished memories and they serve to remind me that all that has gone before was not the best or the worst that is to be.   There is still much more to come.   What an adventure this life is.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Horse Drawn Carts

  1. Rachel

    June 11, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Sopia, I’ve read many things in your blog that rang bells of recognition for me, but to discover today that we were both born at Dr Leff’s Maternity Hospital had to take the cake! What a coincidence (or, some would say, there are no coincidences…). I’ve enjoyed each of your blogs, showing different sides of you. Thank you.

    Rachel

     
  2. MsSopia

    June 11, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    Rachel, It is incredible. I thought I was the only person left on earth who ever heard of Dr. Leff’s Maternity Hospital. I remember my Mother telling me that it closed shortly after my sister was born. My sister was six years younger than me and she passed over a year and a half ago.
    I guess you and I have no choice then to be real friends.

    Sopia

     
  3. Remus Crisp

    June 13, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    What a lovely, thought-provoking piece MsSopia. It reminded me of my own early childhood in England, during the late 60’s / early 70’s, when the “Rag and Bone man” would make periodic appearances with his horse and cart to collect unwanted clothing, scrap metal and the like.

    Going back even further, my father recounted that in his childhood, the children were tasked to follow the horse down the street with a bucket, in the event there were any “developments” at the rear end of the horse, as the manure was regarded as a marvellous fertilizer for the rose bushes.

    Balancing nostalgia against progress – if we had a time machine would we go back? – I think losing the internet would make it a journey I could not undertake!

    Remus

     
  4. MsSopia

    June 14, 2011 at 2:42 am

    Remus, I am so pleased you enjoyed my memories of the peddlers and their mode of transportation. Hopefully, you will return to share in more of my recollections.

    Ms Sopia

     

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople's Blog

Austin's largest independent bookstore since 1970 - 603 N. Lamar Blvd.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

