RSS

The Written Word

07 Sep

This past weekend I was discussing with a friend that we had recently received a kindle as a gift, and would probably be purchasing future books through Amazon to be read on our new toy.   My friend, Richard, commented that he would most likely never purchase this kind of reading device.  He loved the way a book felt in his hands.  The smell of a new book,  (they do have a distinct smell),  everything about going to a library, or bookstore, and browsing.

I later thought about what he had said,  and had to agree that the experience of reading was enhanced by the art on the book jacket, the weight of the pages, and the description on the fly-leaf.  I remember what pleasure I felt when leaving Borders with that half sized shopping bag, loaded with books.  After arriving home with three or four books I would have the most difficult time deciding which one to read first.  Having decided, I secretly hoped that I didn’t pick the best one for first,  as I would surely be disappointed by the subsequent selections.  You always want each book you read to be better than the last book you’ve read.

The odds of reading your purchases in the right order are pretty slim unless you pick one author, and the novels are each part of a continuing series.  In that case, you wait until the entire series is complete (Harry Potter), read the names of all the previous books on the second or third page of the last book, (this all takes some research), and begin from the first in the series.  Granted, even if you do it that way, there is no guarantee that each subsequent novel will be better than its predecessor.  That’s a chance we all must take.

As a child, one of the first books I read was Little Women by Louisa May Alcott.  I loved that book, and must have read it at least six times.  Since I was only about ten or eleven years of age there were some things I didn’t quite grasp.  Alcott was so accomplished that her novel was written on several levels.  It appealed to an audience spanning a wide age range, as does Rowling with the Potter novels.

Yes, Richard’s comment did get me thinking about all this, and my love for books.  The pride I take in my library, ( I have a few autographed books that I don’t lend out), and how much I enjoy trading books with others who appreciate reading as much as I do.  Nothing takes you out of your day-to-day or your location like a good book.  You are never lonely, or bored, when you are held captive by a book.  You can read while standing on a line, in a doctor’s office, or when you have a cold, and can’t do any other activity.

When your mind works as mine does you begin thinking about something, (the hard cover and paperback books) you digress to the wonders of reading, and then back again to the kindle, and e books.  I have downloaded books to the kindle and the Ipad.  My husband and I switch back and forth with these two devices, when we wish to read the book that has been downloaded onto either device.  We also have many books on our bookshelves that we still intend to read.

Television did not do away with radio, cablevision did not do away with movie houses, and the kindle will not do away with paper and ink books.  The kindle is light, you don’t need to worry that War and Peace will cause your luggage to weigh more than permitted when checking in at the airport.  You can read it in bed, your arms don’t get exhausted because you need to hold it up at an odd angle, far enough away from your face to read it.  Best of all, when you fall asleep and drop it on your face, you don’t break your nose.

Whether it’s a hard cover copy, a paperback, or a reading device, the fact that we are more exposed to the written word, then ever before in history, is a wonderful thing.  We  laugh, cry, and learn by reading  and listening to words.   Perhaps there will come a time when we lend each other Kindles as we now do physical books.  Read on my friends!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “The Written Word

  1. Jeyna Grace

    September 7, 2011 at 3:34 am

    A good book goes a long way..

     
  2. Adrien

    September 8, 2011 at 2:14 am

    You pretty much said what i could not effectively communicate. +1

    My site:
    dsl anbieter und dsl vergleich anbieter

     
  3. Jan Arzooman

    September 12, 2011 at 1:52 am

    I DO prefer the feel of a real book in my hands, and I miss being able to flip through it. But I love my Nook because I can take it everywhere and have several books on hand — I can read whichever I am in the mood for at any given time.

    Also, I like being able to do a lot more while I’m reading. For instance, I can’t usually read a book or a magazine while I’m eating a messy sandwich or waiting for my nails to dry. But with my Nook all I need is one finger to “turn a page.”

     
  4. Dr. Veronica Esagui

    September 16, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    This is the reason I organize the once a year event, The NW Book Festival in Portland OR. Next year it will be the 4th Annuall NW Book Festival, right in the heart of the city of Portland. Lets keep books alive!
    http://www.nwbookfestival.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

bookpeopleblog.wordpress.com/

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

