RSS

Autumn Preview

17 Sep

I woke this morning curled under my thick, brown, satin, quilt.   I must have pulled it up over myself during the night while I slept.  Good thing we thought to fold it at the foot of the bed after watching the weather report the night before.   The windows were wide open and the bedroom had really cooled down during the night.  Sun, streaming through the bedroom window, was brilliant, with the scent of Autumn in the air. 

Just like that.  Flipping of a switch, and Summer retreats allowing Autumn to rush on in.  I understand it won’t be for long.  Summer will make a surprise encore before the trees begin showing off their annual display of brilliant gold, burnt orange, russet and brown. Before the oaks sway, releasing their leaves to dance on down to the earth, creating a crunchy carpet beneath our feet, Indian Summer will send us running back upstairs to strip off  jeans in order to jump into shorts, once again.

This time of the year was not always greeted by me with such joy.  I dreaded Fall as its cool nights forwarned that Winter was not far behind.  I ignored the season as one might disregard the foyer of a well-kept home, by dashing on through to get to another room.  Forgetting to appreciate a lovely table ,  carefully designed coat rack, a welcoming bouquet of flowers, arranged there by the homeowner.   I dismissed Fall, not taking into account the beauty it possesses on its own.  The energy it renews in me to get back to the things I love.  The reasons I wouldn’t think of moving South.

Then at one Summer’s end, it occurred to me, I was tired of wearing a bathing suit every day.  I was getting antsy to begin in the house projects, and no longer did I wish to feel guilty for wasting a summer’s day by being inside.   Doing a chore I really wanted to begin, but it was too hot to start.  My God!  I was bored with Summer and the faded blooms.  The garden was well past its prime.  It needed to be turned.  A crisp breeze would feel wonderful on my face, and I was looking forward to the riotous shades of Fall and some soup bubbling on the stove.

So today after pushing back the heavier blanket, I dressed in jeans (which still fit from last year), put on a silk knit top with three-quarter sleeves and prepared to do away with Summer.  I tossed away the Summer wreath, decorated with iris and daffodils,  that hung by the front door, and to replace it dug out a harvest wreath, ablaze with the colors of Fall.  My pumpkins  now sit ready in the screen room expecting  to take their place on the front porch at the stroke of October 1st.  The long list of fall projects were quickly written down.  I look so forward to rolling up my sweat shirt sleeves and begin.

The weather man assured everyone this evening that Summer will return next week.  I’ll enjoy its last hurrah, but I am ready to greet Autumn with a Spring in my step.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Autumn Preview

  1. MITCHELL

    September 17, 2011 at 6:25 am

    Again– well written–Enjoy reading your work

     
  2. Jan Arzooman

    September 18, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Fall is always my favorite time of year. It’s been great sleeping weather recently. Plus, it means football!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

