RSS

Five Year Guarantee

21 Sep

I recently purchased brand new furniture for my living room. A sofa, a love seat, and a terrific accent chair. I am not a person who comparison shops, going from store to store comparing price and quality. In fact, I hate shopping of all kind, clothing, shoes, food, furniture. Perhaps my only shopping addiction is the Home Goods Store. Prior to that it was Linens N Things. The reason I switched from Linens N Things to Home Goods is that they tore the building down that use to house Linens N Things, and constructed a new one for Home Goods on the same site. This made it difficult for me to remain a Linens N Things addict since I also hate to drive. But that is grist for another rant on another blog. Now I am a Home Goods shopper.

It took just a tiny bit of analysis to figure out why, when I truly hate shopping, did I love these two stores. After a short time mulling this problem around I came up with the answer. It’s the feathering my nest syndrome. Add a new glass vase, a red ceramic bowl, two turtle doves, and I am as happy as a blue jay plumping her surroundings. The nesting thing that I’m afflicted with. Whenever I purchase a new chocka, or retrieve an old one from the shed, I waltz it around the house, placing it in different locations, on odd angles, until it suits me perfectly. I even move from chair to chair to check how the light flatters the current object of my affection.

Most of these accents are rarely noticed by guests, but they are so very important to me. That is until I’ve had enough of any particular chocka. Then it either makes its way back to the shed, the local Goodwill store, or the trash can. One of these options are chosen according to how many times its already made it to the shed, back into the house, then back into the shed.

I go to the Goodwill Store, so often, with bags of clothing, books, and knick knacks that they must surely think I am a cat burglar, with a poor eye for the loot that I continually burgle. I am forced to donate the over flow to Goodwill. They don’t turn me in because it’s a win win situation for the store and myself. (Sorry I dared to digress with fanciful thoughts).

Once I made up my mind that it was time for new furniture, I put pictures of my old set on Craig’s List, hoping for a buyer willing to pay $250.00. Price to go. Got a buyer with a sad story, and sold it for $100.00. Happy to get someone else to carry it out of the house for Jim. Then I went to one furniture store, Ashley Furniture, ran through their hundred or so displays, and, is my custom, fell in love with one immediately. No thought to coming back after checking around. After all it was a Labor Day Sale. I’d made up my mind.

OK, here is the best part. The salesman, Andre, sold me a five-year guarantee for an additional two hundred dollars over the price of the furniture. Who wouldn’t buy a guarantee of five years more of life for only two hundred dollars when you were already sixty-five years old? What a bargain. I’m going to renew it when I’m seventy!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Five Year Guarantee

  1. Jan Arzooman

    September 21, 2011 at 6:17 am

    How are you liking the new furniture? I wish I had more of that nesting instinct. Maybe it’s because I’ve moved so much in my life, and never had kids. But I am always jealous of people who know how to decorate their houses. I never seemed to know what to do with mine.

    Your post reminds me, however, that I have to put some stuff on Craig’s list myself to sell.

     
    • MsSopia

      September 22, 2011 at 12:10 am

      I am loving my new furniture, although I am not sure if the point of my blog got across. The point was I bought five years of life for $200.
      If you like my taste and you want some help decorating I would be happy to assist. It is something I really love to do.

       
  2. MITCHELL

    September 21, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I enjoy you articles. –What is your Chocka?

     
    • MsSopia

      September 22, 2011 at 12:12 am

      Chocka (don’t know if that is the correct spelling but there was no place to look it up) means knick knacks or candles or small decorative items you might put around your home.

       
  3. bloog

    October 11, 2011 at 11:22 am

    I think this is one of the most important information for me. And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

     
  4. nasze mazury to cud natury

    October 12, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one these days..

     

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

bookpeopleblog.wordpress.com/

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

