Where do I go wrong?


Day 140 - AA
Day 140 - AA (Photo credit: uLight.Me)

Grrrrrr, I hate when I get a sudden idea.  This happens to me often.  Sometimes its fun to be impulsive, but sometimes it wrenches you off track.  If you are anything at all like me, you wake up in the morning, or some time that is not quite afternoon, and before you get out of bed you have a plan for the day.  I try to lay out these plans in order of importance.  Get the taxes done, think about going on a diet, do the wash, solve the world problems, who will be the next President of the United States, what I’ll have for dinner,  and what should be done with the leaders of Syria and Iran (two mad men).  The daily laundry list of every woman in America.

Then I put my feet on the floor and it all goes awry.  Today I decided after breakfast I would set up the laundry, start the dishwasher and perhaps write a bit before I got on to anything else.  Like everyone in this busy world of ours most minutes in the day are accounted for.  Well all was fine until I went into the downstairs bathroom to collect the towels to be washed.

On one of the bathroom counters rests two decorative dolls that I purchased a few years ago after hitting on the slot machines in Atlantic City.  Every time my gaze falls on these lovelies they make me smile and calm me.  I’m often moving through the day in a whirl wind state.  As always they did their job, made me smile and calmed me.  Then it hit.  A sudden idea.  I would write about these dolls on my blog.  How would I describe them to capture their essence?  It wouldn’t be easy.  The word doll didn’t do them justice.  They are pieces of art.  I know!  I’ll take a picture of them and post it along with my blog.

Upstairs to get my new camera, that was gifted to me almost a year ago. It was only used about three times since I’ve owned it.  You wouldn’t say that I was much of a picture taker.  After turning on, it didn’t take a second to realize the battery was dead.  Of course.  Ok, where was the battery charger.  The newer cameras don’t take double A batteries of which I have about 80,  (The humongous Costco Battery Pack).  It has one of those slim, slide in, easier to use, kind.  Again, where was the battery charger.

I looked through at least four boxes of camera to computer wires, a dozen or so different size electronic transformers,  cell phone chargers, iPad wire connections etc. etc., no GE camera battery charger.  Pulled out the drawers, more wires, chargers and connections.  More transformers of items long ago gone to the outdated computer heaven.  No GE camera battery charger.  Where could it be?

I pulled out the suitcases in the guest room, threw them on the bed and ran my hand through every pocket.  All the current suitcases have at least nine different pockets and storage units. Perhaps I left the charger in one of them when returning from the last trip we took.  Nope, No GE battery charger.

During this search the dryer had buzzed two separate times.  Each time I ran downstairs, pulled the clothes out, transferred the wet wash into it, folded the dry wash, and ran back upstairs to continue the hunt.  The calming effect of the dolls was long gone, replaced by a flushed face and wild-eyed woman on a mission.  I was obsessed.

It was no use, the charger was probably in the retired suitcase in the shed.  I would just have to go there to continue my hunt and search   Downstairs I went once again, folded another load of clothes before heading out.  It was chilly, I pulled on my sweatshirt.  Just then I felt a key in the pocket.  The key belonged to the basement door.  I knew this because it was labeled otherwise I would have been distracted by an additional mystery.  We always keep the basement keys in the corner cabinet and I thought it best to put it where it belonged before misplacing yet another thing.  When I opened the cabinet to hang the key, there was the GE battery charger.  It stood there mocking me, black and shiny and mocking!  What the hell was it doing in there?  This is where the keys belong.

Relieved, because my next stop, after the shed, was radio shack to buy a new charger, I snatched the charger out of its hiding place and ran it (wait let me correct that) trudged it upstairs.  It is now in the socket, with the little battery nestled in the holder, being charged.

Oh, I am now too exhausted to take a picture of my pretty dolls.  That blog will just have to wait for another day.

5 Replies to “Where do I go wrong?”

  1. What a day! I thought you were about to report that one of those dolls (statuettes?) had broken and I was about to be very sad. They are beautiful indeed and always make me smile when I see them as well. All in all, you found the charger, the dolls are intact. Not so bad. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Renard's World

My Personal Space On The Web To Post Anything That Tickles My Fancy

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

When you got nothing, you got nothing to lose. — Dylan.

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.