RSS

Rock and Rollers

03 May

blow hair dryer Italiano: Asciugacapelli a casco

blow hair dryer Italiano: Asciugacapelli a casco (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

      For those of you who have followed my blog, you are aware of the trials and tribulations that I experience with my hair.

     I will not revisit the horrific problems I have had with the coloring of it.  Suffice to say no matter what shade I mix up it’s always a crap shoot regarding what color it will turn out after the dye is rinsed away.

     My new nemesis, ok not new but something I don’t think I have written about before, are my curls, or frizz, depending upon the weather.

      I am in constant battle with my hair.  The only time it looks adult is when I am straight from the beauty salon and Richie, (my hairdresser at New York New Wave) has blown it out.  He performs magic.  I become sleek and sophisticated.
     
      When I come home from one of these events my husband cannot stop staring at me.  For all our years together my hair has always been naturally curly.  So curly in fact that when everyone was perming their hair, (I think that was the 80s) people assumed I had a perm.  NOT.  When I enter the house with straight tresses it is always a shock to him. He thinks it is very funny.  I do not find his reaction amusing, but I’m use to it.
       
     At this point in my life I don’t so much mind the curls, but I really can do without the frizz.  We are now entering super frizz season.  So what will I do about it?
       
     After all the discussion I’ve been hearing on television about the harmful chemicals we women use on our hair, nails, face, and body, everyday, I really don’t want it straightened chemically.  Besides I don’t want that stick straight look that chemicals would give me.  I am not one to blow it straight.  I tried that for years and although it did relax the curls, it seemed to reinforce the frizz.  What to do?
     
     Then I came across some pictures of myself in much younger days.  My hair was shiny and wavy. How did I do that?  The answer – rollers.  I set my hair with humongous rollers.  Sometimes I actually used beer cans.  I use to sleep on these things.  Well not really sleep but lay in bed balanced on the uncomfortable, uneven, rollers.  The true meaning of Rock and Roll. You didn’t really sleep.
 
     One time I went to the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  There I visited the Egyptian room and saw that King Tut, and I guess all royalty, didn’t sleep with their heads on a pillow but rather their neck rested on a curved block, their head floated free.  I tried my own version of this.  My neck on a rolled up towel, my head floating above the mattress.  It helped, but I didn’t get what you would call a full nights sleep.  But still rollers did the trick.  My hair was great.  How could I have forgotten this.
     
    Now I never want to sleep on rollers again, but today I ventured out to Rite Aid and bought eight pink sponge rollers.  After my shower I will towel dry my hair best I can, clip on a few of these throw back in time devices, and blow them with a hair dryer for three minutes.  No matter what, it can’t hurt, especially since it is supposed to rain tomorrow.  My hair will be in frizz heaven.
     
     I’ll let you know how I make out.  If you ask.
 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Rock and Rollers

  1. stargazerlin

    May 3, 2012 at 11:46 am

    I remember having a foam rubber pillow and it had indentations where the rollers went.

     
  2. MsSopia

    May 3, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    I knew you could relate.

     
  3. Rachel

    May 4, 2012 at 12:33 am

    I also used the huge rollers, but the ones I remember the most were the ones with brushes inside. What we were willing to do for “beauty”!

     
    • MsSopia

      May 4, 2012 at 12:36 am

      Rachel, I look around at the roller generation and it is apparent that all our efforts paid off. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

bookpeopleblog.wordpress.com/

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

