RSS

The Joys of a New Computer – Not! or Where’s the Geek When You Need One?

19 May

Rob geek cup

Rob geek cup (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is not the first time I will have complained about my trials with Computers.  I have gone to great measures and expense to make my experience with these life altering machines,easier.  I love this grand age of technology, and truly wish to fully submerge myself in it.  There is one problem, I don’t know how.

I have owned a computer since the Commodore 64.  Truly, I have tried to wrap my brain around how to get them, these infuriating, confusing, assistants, to do what I want them to do.  Then, as soon as I have mastered one system, I am told by several people, that my system is outdated.  You simple cannot have Windows XP as an operating system or write a novel on Microsoft Office 2003, in 2012, it is impossible. You must work on the most current technology available.  Never mind that what’s current changes every twenty minutes, or so it seems to me.

True to my stubborn nature, I did not take the word of the naysayers and did attempt to mix newer technology with older systems.  But the crepe hangers were correct, it just didn’t work. Time to put my dinosaurs to rest. No networking iPad and Windows XP. What’s a person to do?

I took the plunge and purchased a new laptop, running Windows 7.  I also got the newest Microsoft Office.  I should be in heaven, right?  Wrong!  I still want a lot of the stuff which is located on my old pc.  How do I get it transferred to my fast new laptop.  Remember I can’t network them – XP and 7,  No no no.  I want to move documents and music – how do I get my new laptop to print out on my current printer?  I have a wireless router, but have no clue how to network my stuff.  I’m beginning to long for an inkwell and a quill.

It’s not that I’m a total dunce when it comes to computers and such.  The difficulty stems from the fact that I was born about twenty years too early and it just doesn’t come easy.  Yes, I knew you would have figured out the solution to my dilemma after having read this far.  I need a Geek!!

Remember when being a Geek was a bad thing?  Who would have thought in the year twenty twelve they would be the most sought after individuals in the modern world?  So if you run across a bored individual who claims that they have knowledge of all the things I don’t have knowledge of, they just might be a Geek.  Please send that wonderful person my way.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “The Joys of a New Computer – Not! or Where’s the Geek When You Need One?

  1. stargazerlin

    May 19, 2012 at 3:27 am

    I just sent three old computers home to upstate New York with my child to give to the geek boyfriend with a vintage computer obsession. They have resided in my garage for the better part of the last decade because I’ve been hoping for some such person to help me retrieve the files, photos and memories from them. I’ve forgotten what’s on them and instead am delighting in the new empty corner of the garage. Problem solved? Not quite, I’m struggling with mastering my brand new MacBook and have the old laptop and PC in the house. Maybe I’ll move them to the garage? Want to get together and commiserate over a drink?

     
  2. MsSopia

    May 20, 2012 at 2:12 am

    If we continue playing with our new electronics we will need a drink!

     
  3. Robin Jean Marie

    May 30, 2012 at 9:31 am

    I am constantly frustrated by these things (and am waiting for Comcast to arrive as I write this, because we’re having such network problems!). Luckily for me, I married a Geek. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople's Blog

Austin's largest independent bookstore since 1970 - 603 N. Lamar Blvd.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

