RSS

The War of the Roses 2012

03 Jun

Hibiscus

Hibiscus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

      In so many of my blogs I have written about flowers, how beautiful they are, and how much I love them.  I admire other people’s gardens while envying their artistic eye and the talent they possess for creating the most unique designs. It is difficult not to covet their fabulous climbing Mandevilla vine or gargantuan Hibiscus.  Yes, Linda I am talking about you.  You are a garden witch!

      I delight in the gorgeous cluster arrangements, while wishing for an hour of the strength Leslie possesses to bend and kneel and dig in the earth in order to adorn her front yard.  She creates a fanciful ocean of color in a labor intense, free form. Boy, I’d like to punch her one.

     Not to mention the guy across the street whose yellow and purple pansies go right up the side of his walk way from end to end.  Tony, I am sure you had no idea that I peered at you from behind my curtain while you dug in your alternating hued flowers and fed them so lovingly.  They preened beneath your gentle hand. I had to hold myself back from running right out and demand you do the same thing to my driveway or suffer the pain of getting your hair pulled.

     So I have had to spend a Kings Ransome at the nursery.  I’ve carted home flats of flowers, pots of vegetables, humped around yards of dirt.  Foregone my mani/pedi (what was the use when I had to roll around on the ground). And bent, kneeled, dragged, broke hand tools, chopped, raked, pulled out last years dead plants, weeded, bought new pots, mixed and matched and created my own paradise.

     For four days straight I pulled myself from the comfort of my bed with a single purpose in mind.  Get the those cells of flowers in the ground before they whither in their tiny plastic containers.  I armed myself with the weapons to defeat my garden.  Blugeon it into submission.  And I went at it each day with a vengeance until exhausted from the battle.

     When I finally felt it was complete, and only then, did I allow my aching body to sit back on my haunches and admire my effort.  Around my house there are now dozens of various shaped pots boasting the most unlikely mix of blooms.  Sopia’s vision creates odd flower bed fellows.  But I and my guests will have the pleasure of their company all summer.

     Thank you Linda, Leslie and Tony for your inspiration.  See you on Arbor Day.  I truly appreciate you all.  Incidently, I don’t have a single rose!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The War of the Roses 2012

  1. stargazerlin

    June 3, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    Hee hee, Thanks Sopia. I always love visiting your gardens, the many beautiful pots, the wonderful vegetables, and all the color and love everywhere.

     
  2. MsSopia

    June 3, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    We need to have a party soon. Perhaps order in! 🙂

     
  3. Leslie

    June 5, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    I am available to be loaned out as garden labor. Very cheap. Just pick a day over the summer and I’m yours 🙂

     
  4. MsSopia

    June 6, 2012 at 12:44 am

    Why thank you, dear Leslie.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

bookpeopleblog.wordpress.com/

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

