RSS

I’ll See You In My Dreams

29 Jul

Dreaming #art #photoStudio

Dreaming #art #photoStudio (Photo credit: sand625)

There are a variety of influences that form our dreams and nightmares.  The stress of the day, anticipation of a coming event, or a conglamaration of hundreds of things we see, hear, smell.  These are a few of the stimulants that create our night-time adventures. But what of day dreams?

I find myself staring into space while my thoughts move from one place to another via a series of links that only assist my leap-frogging from one journey to another, in immeasurable time.  One of the catalysts that spring me into these adventures, is music.  Like Alice stepping through the Looking Glass, I am lost.

Listening to and playing with my collection of music is one of my favorite past times.  Recently, I purchased a new laptop.  Any who have done this know that it is an entire project to move your music back into Itunes and once again into your iPod.  For some this presents no problem, but if all of your music was not acquired in the traditional manner, it’s a real big deal to get it back where you want it (on your iPod) for your enjoyment.

This is exactly what I have been going about the past month or so.  Since much of my music is not titled but rather called track 1, 2, 30 etc.  I must play each track in order to finally give it its correct name and then move each song to the proper playlist.  While doing this, I have been listening to songs that I haven’t heard in quite some time.

My taste in music runs the gamut from tracks of my youth by RoseMary Clooney and Hernando’s Hideaway(Favorites of my Mother and Father) to the hard thumping sound of today’s Adele.  I love all these sounds marking the decades from the fifties until today and everything in between.  Of course I have favorite eras but there is something that can make me dance or turn on my day dreams in each of those sixty somewhat years.

In the Still of the Night brings me back to those greaser times growing up in East Harlem.  Mommio, Daddio this is Jocko – one of my favorite DJs.  There was a time when 1010 WINS was a Rock N Roll Station.  I can recall every stage of life and be with those I knew and grew up with.  Other tunes remind me of my children as babies, toddlers and teens. Life events once again are made anew, and I get to be with my sister, who has preceded me to the other side of the veil.

So if you come upon me wool gathering, as they use to describe day dreaming, and there is somewhat of a vacant smile on my face, don’t think I’ve lost my mind.  Rather I am visiting with years gone, by way of my Music.  Just maybe I’ll see you in my dreams.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople's Blog

Austin's largest independent bookstore since 1970 - 603 N. Lamar Blvd.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

