RSS

That’s All it Takes to Be Me.

06 Sep

unedited My new pedicure free for use My photo...

unedited My new pedicure free for use My photos that have a creative commons license and are free for everyone to download, edit, alter and use as long as you give me, “D Sharon Pruitt” credit as the original owner of the photo. Have fun and enjoy! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What is the secret of a Mani/Pedi?  Doesn’t matter what your mood when you enter a nail salon you are always uplifted on the way out.  Whether it’s just a change of color, no color, french, or fill in with followup pedicure, you exit feeling beautiful and renewed.

I always get color because color makes me happy.  Irrelevant what the time of the year, or the weather, it’s always a vacation day after that trip to the salon.  Afterall, would I chance chipping my new manicure with mundane chores?  No, no, no, a thousand times NO.

My nail place is owned and operated by Chinese/Americans,John and Judy.  They have three or four workers and all, including John and Judy, speak english to varying degrees.  That doesn’t stop us from having lengthy conversations about fashion, family, health, politics, or even books.  I can’t imagine myself going to a foreign country with little or no knowledge of the language, starting a business, and interacting with customers on a variety of subjects.  It takes a certain amount of courage to do so.  I really admire them.  It is a visit going to the shop.

When I begin frequenting a hair or nail salon I become a loyal customer and even have a sense of guilt should I have a touch-up when away on vacation.  This may sound silly, over the top to some, but these business people, I see several times over the course of the year, become friends.

I knew when John and Judy’s mother visited from China and stayed for a time.  Judy told me that after a few months the elder woman couldn’t wait to go home.  She had lived in central China all her life and missed her friends, other family, and her culture.  Judy was sorry to see her leave.  After all, Mom had the house cleaned and dinner all prepared when Judy returned home from the long day at the nail salon.

As for my beauty salon, Richie, the owner and my stylist and I, talk mostly sports.  If one cares to know me at all they know I am an avid sports fan. I love all the Yankee memorabilia that he has strewn about the shop.  Since he is born and raised in America, there is no language barrier.  We agree or disagree with no fear of misunderstanding.  I know about his family and son, and their relationship.  He is a proud father.  In turn he knows about my family, and when I am up or down. We all have those blue mood times.  Just like the nail salon, I leave Richie with wings on my feet and a bounce in my curls, feeling pleased and pampered.

So while I experience all the hills and valleys of most, over the years I’ve learned if I want a quick fix, I go to Richie for a hair cut, or John and Judy for a Mani/Pedi.  For the small price of each of these I get to be beautiful, visit with great friends, and experience a drug free mood enhancer!  In case you ever wondered, that’s all it takes to be me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

bookpeopleblog.wordpress.com/

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

