RSS

Stopping Short of the Kitchen Sink

14 Nov

English: Plastic suitcase Deutsch: Schwarzer K...

English: Plastic suitcase Deutsch: Schwarzer Koffer aus Plastik (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I adore traveling and going on trips.  The length of a trip doesn’t matter nor correlate to the height of my anticipation and excitement.  Three days warrants the same attention to detail and wardrobe as a two-week vacation. Does not matter if the mode of transport is Plane, Train or Automobile.  I wind into a fevered pitch. Therein lies the small problem that cast a note of anxiety on my pre-vacation pleasure.

Packing the suitcase or suitcases, as the situation calls for, is a horror and I dread it every time.  Day clothes, evening wear, bathing suit and coverup, whether its winter or summer, shoes, make-up, shoes, meds, shoes, body lotion, shoes, hair products, shoes, slippers, sneakers, robe, sweaters, different weight jackets and shawls, band aids, face cream, candles, chips, booze for the room, seltzer, matches, stockings, socks, knee highs, shoes, tums, hair brushes, hair clips, safety pins, needle and thread, jewelry, computer with its charger, and so on.

Then there is rearranging my pocket-book so that I am prepared for check-in without going through the suitcase.  Glasses, driver’s license, hotel confirmation printout, Master Card, club card, tissues, comb, lipstick, lipliner, blush, writing paper, pen, money, which must be broken down into all kinds of denominations for tips, hand lotion, sunglasses, cell phone, and car charger.  All needs to be on hand all the time.

There are items I have left out of this extensive list.  It takes me days to pack.  I like to be prepared for all events.  Heaven forbid I don’t have a choice of earrings.  Or my mood dictates full evening regalia and the shoes don’t match the gown.  Yes, I pack everything just short of the kitchen sink.

BTW, Jim and I travel together.  He throws some stuff in his suitcase and is done packing in 15 minutes.  Go figure.

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Stopping Short of the Kitchen Sink

  1. Rachel

    November 15, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    It’s sooo nice to hear that I’m not alone in this madness! Heaven forbid I find myself without the ‘right’ level pants for the weather, or the right jewelry for an event! And Ed has never understood why I need more than a couple pair of shoes, even for a long trip. The worst for me is when we’ve gone on a vacation in which we’ll be in different environments – like camping for a few days before driving to a city. Makes me crazy. BTW, Ed also packs a (much smaller) bag in 15 minutes and is ready to go.Arrgggghhhhh!

     
    • MsSopia

      November 15, 2012 at 10:12 pm

      Perhaps, you and I are just too civilized.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

