RSS

Affirmations

12 Jan

Sometimes I think people who are continually sprouting and printing positive affirmations on all their text are sappy. I am just too cool for these honey inspired messages.  Keep your uplifting opinions to yourself.  You don’t know what I’m going through.  Yeah sometimes I think these things, but know what, I am wrong.

With the continuous barrage of negativity daily by television, newspapers, movies, and the net, there needs to be some kind of counter balance, or we would certainly all be on drugs.

There is a friend of mine, Sande, who begins every morning on her face book page with a beautiful picture and an uplifting message.  I’ve been reading them for a couple of years now, even when its a crappy beginning of the day for me.  They always make me smile and dissipate any early day clouds.

Lisa is another one of these people who take the time to paste a beautiful, or cute picture.  I catch these at the end of my day.  Her sugary message always fills me with a happy sign.  Often the real or imagined stress leaves for the rest of the evening.

The cutesy animal and baby pictures remind me what it was to have a baby in my home or a loving pet.  While, at the moment, I have neither, their imprint is refreshed in my heart.

Sure we can be too cool for this stuff and dismiss it as sappy, but once in a while that counter balance to all the harshness of the real world is good for our minds and souls.  If you choose not to note it, then don’t. No one will know one way or another. But as for me, I’ll keep the couple of moments that it takes each day to read and smile.

The Louise Hay quote, pasted on the top of this blog, was copied from the page of my late cousin Johnny’s son, Johnny.  It is a really good one and will surely become a new mantra  of mine.  Come on and admit it.  Doesn’t it give you pause to think?

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Affirmations

  1. joeyred51

    January 12, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    I love your philosophy.

     
    • MsSopia

      January 12, 2013 at 5:56 pm

      Thank you. You are always so pleasant, making you a pleasure to chat with.

       
  2. gentzgang

    January 13, 2013 at 8:40 am

    U forgot to mention “Ed the clam” laugh out loud! Does young Johnny read ur blog?

    Sent from my iPad

     
  3. MsSopia

    January 13, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Gentz, I don’t know about Johnny, but Ed does.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

