RSS

Do you know who you are?

19 Jan

Cosmopolitan (magazine)

Cosmopolitan (magazine) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I know a lot of people.  That sentence needs clarifying.  I have met a lot of people and know them only by what they tell me about themselves.  After being in their company, often I discover that they are not really who they think they are, or who they try to project.  Living a false image, or lie, is not sustainable. Your true self eventually comes to the fore.  Sometimes that is for the better. Being pretentious never endears one.  Having come to this conclusion I wondered if I know who I am.  I thought I knew, but then again is it like that mirror image that only shows you what you think you look like and not what you really look like.  I’ve found that a photograph does a better job of representing one’s image than the mirror does, but still it isn’t who you are inside.

It is true that we are many things to many people, but does that mean that we are not true to who we want to be?  After so many years of striving to be socially acceptable, making certain we are liked, and reading issues of Cosmo, with all its quizzes and advice, can we truly know for certain this is who I am and what I want in life?  Did all that practicing at life eventually shape us into the person we really are?  If so, have we taken stock of our changing profile so that when we introduce or speak about ourself are we talking about the person we are now, or the person we thought ourselves to be ten years ago?

I’ve recently taken that proverbial stock of myself.  Had I met me ten years ago, I would have met an entirely different person than the person I would meet today.  Without a doubt my desires are different, expectations, and what I deem important have changed.  What I will tolerate from others has certainly been refined.  I definitely like me more now, and that figures into how I treat others, nicer and more sympathetic to their lives.  It seems to me that my basic nature has reverted back to when everything came naturally.  I behave without thought to other people’s expectations of who I should be.

Life’s goals are realistic and all successes, ours and those of other’s are celebrated and recognized.  At this moment  I think I know who I am and that will help me manuever through time with a bit of ease and a hint of grace.  I will have to reevaluate again in the future, but that’s ok.  Perhaps with the passing years I’ll continue to be happy in my own skin.

Can I help introducing you to you?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople's Blog

Austin's largest independent bookstore since 1970 - 603 N. Lamar Blvd.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

