RSS

Living Up To My Potential

27 Mar

Dream girl

Dream girl (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

You hear the phrase, “Living up to your potential”, all the time from teachers.  They say it to their students and change it a bit when speaking to the parents of said students.  It’s an important alteration, “She is not working up to her potential”.  What does it mean?  She is not performing up to the standard that the teacher, instructor, boss, believes that she is capable of.  She can certainly do a lot better.  Perhaps, they seem to have made that student or employee a study.

I am well passed the stage that I am expected to perform up to anyone’s idea of what I can and cannot do.  Anyone but me that is.  I do have certain expectations of myself.  The difficulty is, I don’t know if I have set my standards too high or too low.  How does one judge what one’s current capabilities are?  What ruler do we use?

You surely can not compare to another person of your age and similar physical traits.  They are coming from a different time and place.  Perhaps they began their journey with a higher mental acuity, natural strength, inherited talent.  You can only be as good as you can be.  The heights you reach are determined by the limitations you came into this world with.  Is that true?  I don’t think so.

To use the old cliché, tell the bumble bee that he can’t fly because his wings are too small.  We are limited only by our own self-doubt.

So to get back to my dilemma, do I expect too little or too much of myself?  Do I change my life’s desires because of the length of my years?  Are hopes and dreams only for the young?  No way!!  I believe I will keep having those dreams and strive toward achieving them.  I am going to keep that bar very high and continue to get annoyed on the days I don’t achieve the height I have set for that day.  After all, I need to live up to my potential and that is, well …… the sky’s the limit.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Living Up To My Potential

  1. Joe gallo

    March 27, 2013 at 11:09 pm

    I agree with you.

     
  2. MsSopia

    March 27, 2013 at 11:21 pm

    Glad that you do, Joe.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople's Blog

Austin's largest independent bookstore since 1970 - 603 N. Lamar Blvd.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

