RSS

My Little Black Capped Chickadee

08 Apr

Français cadien: Mésange à tête noire. Black-c...

Français cadien: Mésange à tête noire. Black-capped Chickadee. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Anyone living in the Northeast during the 2012/2013 Winter season is well aware that it has been a long cold spell.  While I enjoy the four seasons, this year tested my resolve never to move South from my beloved New York.

But suddenly, like it had never gone away, I woke up this morning to a cloudless, bright, sunshiny day.   Aah, the windows were thrown open, and I breath in a deep cleansing breath.  My first nod to Spring. The second was not to don socks to keep my tooties warm.  It was just too beautiful to stay indoors.  I slipped on open toed shoes and ran outside to the patio.  I even made it one step further, to the outdoor deck.

Fortunately, Jim and I had begun the seasonal cleanup while we still needed warm jackets and plenty of tissues for runny noses.  He got a lot done while avoiding cabin fever.  There isn’t very much work left to get ready for Spring and Summer.  While it is always lovely to be sitting in the fresh air you really don’t want to be relaxing amid last fall’s dried up leaves and broken flower pots.  We don’t like to see the dead stalks jutting from the earth.  They are the last remains of last year’s beautiful annuals.  Nope, its time to admire the daffodils, hyacinths and the blossoming yellow forsythia.

So while I had decided I would come out with a cup of coffee and sit with my face to the sun, I first had to remove the parsley from last years cracked pot with hopes that I wasn’t killing the herbs with my transfer to the new container.  You know, you are always taking that chance when repotting any plant.  I ran around seeking out a few damaged outside items, my running is a bit like a moderate walking pace, and tossed them in the trash with gay abandon.  A few more chores, and I was ready to break out the lounge chair and pay traditional homage to the sun.

I rolled up my pant legs,  pushed up my sleeves, and stretched out on that comfy lounge.  Warm April sun-kissed my face.  Truly love from an old friend.  It was wonderful.   Just as I began to drift off, another pal, the black-capped chickadee, tweeted me a song of Spring.  Welcome back for another year of a wonderful New York Season.

Janine Jansen, Vivaldi- The Four Seasons

Janine Jansen, Vivaldi- The Four Seasons (Photo credit: ychsiao)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

