RSS

The Month of August

01 Aug

English: Mascot_in_winter. Patchogue Dock phot...

English: Mascot_in_winter. Patchogue Dock photo by Stevan (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Cooked mussels

Cooked mussels (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here I sit on August first and I am shocked that I haven’t written a thing since the beginning of July.  Yes, it was uncannily hot in New York for at least nine days , and I did enjoy the company of my grandchildren for six days, but there were sixteen additional days, times twenty-four hours, when I had opportunity to write.

A vast number of topics crossed my mind, but I was unprofessional and did not jot them down as I thought of them.  A writer should never be without paper, pen, or iPad.  Those gems of ideas are fleeting and rarely recalled once your attention is pulled elsewhere.  The longer you hesitate to sit at the computer, the harder it gets to do so.

Today on the View (which I was watching instead of writing) was that prolific author, Danielle Steel, who has written 130 books.  She does this all on a manual typewriter.  She said she likes the sound of the click clack of the keys.  I can relate to this.  I remember writing on an old machine myself, very long ago.  The sound of the striking keys would mesmerize me and the words just flowed.  I will need to see if I can get this laptop to make that sound.  Anything to stir up those creative juices.

I have mixed feelings on this August first.  I am worry that the summer is flying by and I haven’t done one of the things I’d planned.  However. I am pleased that it’s still summer and the opportunity is still available to me.

Food defines seasons to me. Turkey is Fall, Ham, Winter, Cherries and Nectarines, Spring, but my favorite of all, Shellfish in the Summer.  Long Island Mussels, Crabs, and Clams.

I know you can get any of these foods any time of the year, but there is something special about eating them in season.  Yesterday I made my version of baked clams.  The day before steamed mussels with one of my own variety of juice.  I haven’t cooked crabs yet this summer, but it won’t be long.  Perhaps it’s not just the taste of seafood, rather the memories they bring with them.  Memories of youth, family, love, wellbeing, and being care free.

The shellfish, a trip to the beach, visiting with friends, and a short vacation will fill my August.  I’m not going to worry about the month past, but about the month I am living.  I will go in the pool, and smell the flowers.  Oh, and I am going to write down all those fleeting thoughts that will grow into profound blogs.

Happy August.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

