RSS

Bring In the Fences

09 Aug

Photo by The Silent Wind of Doom 18 Apr 2009 (UTC)

Photo by The Silent Wind of Doom 18 Apr 2009 (UTC) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Anyone that knows me personally, or perhaps from reading my blog, has discovered that I am a baseball fan.  Not just a baseball fan, but an avid Yankee fan even in this dismal season.

There are many things I would have done differently this year,  if I were making the decisions for the bombers.  I would not have traded Russell Martin or Raul Ibanez.  I would surely have dumped Joba and Hughes, both who have been terrible and undependable throughout their Yankee careers.

I do understand that we need to build a younger team, however, with so many of our veterans going into surgery at the end of the 2012 season , and the Alex Rodriguez scandal looming large, it was not a great time to bring in the kids.  No need for me to comment on ARod.  Everything that should and shouldn’t be said about him has already been shouted from the rooftops.  I will not boo him when he takes the field tonight.  That’s just plain silly.

Oh well, hindsight is always 20/20.

My rant today is not just about the Yankees, but rather about baseball in general.  I remember some time ago there were a lot more hits which made our National Pastime more exciting.  I don’t know if it was drugs, the strike zone being smaller, the baseball wound tighter, or our batters were just that much better (this I doubt).  The game doesn’t have me at the edge of my seat anymore.  Not even if it’s the long-standing fun rivalries.

Some people like a pitcher’s duel.  Sure once in a while its thrilling to see those guys showing off their skill.  But for me, give me a back and forth high scoring game every time.  Can’t and shouldn’t encourage drug use, we need a reasonable strike zone, and uniform balls and bats.  How about we bring in some of the fences in every ballpark.  I miss holding my breath and then yelling, “See Ya”, as my friend Michael Kaye would say.

What do you think?  BRING IN THE FENCES.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Bring In the Fences

  1. joeyred51

    August 10, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    Hi,

    The Yankees are my favorite team as well with the ’61 team led by Mantle and Maris my all time favorite. I agree they need an overhaul with some young talent.

    I think MLB may have moved the fences back in response to the PEDS enhanced HR stats of many players. Moving in the fences would make sense.

    joey

     
    • MsSopia

      August 10, 2013 at 4:54 pm

      Love being in agreement.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Dear Ms. Sopia,

An advice and discussion page

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

stargazerlin

Fact and fiction from the head and heart.

BookPeople's Blog

Austin's largest independent bookstore since 1970 - 603 N. Lamar Blvd.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Treasures of Life

Musing about people, businesses and social media

Scattered Pictures

Random Memories and Stories; Past and Present

Arzooman Editorial Services

Editing, writing, marketing, Websites

thebottomsideup

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

